A Lovely Bunch of Coconuts….

Standard

Yummmy…. Oh, how I love white chocolate and coconut ….

This is one of my little indulgences I completely enjoy.  Finding this bar at the store, I was beyond thrilled that I ate most of it while at work – it didn’t quite make it home….

So of course I wanted to come up with a cupcake that reflected both white chocolate and coconuts.  As my own little challenge for these cupcakes, I played with my own recipe – this is the first time I’ve done that!  I incorporated coconut flakes and coconut milk into the batter and viola….

What came out was something moist, light and fragranced with the sweet smell of coconuts.  I’m in heaven….

The white chocolate element of this special combo cupcake I introduced into the frosting.  Okay I’ll admit that I got a bit lazy here, and instead of creating something from scratch, I melted half a package of white chocolate chips in the microwave and then added it (when slightly cooled) with a container of cream cheese frosting.  It came out very loose and didn’t hold it’s shape as other frostings, but who cares – it tastes great!  WOW!  Then I heated up some additional coconut flakes in a skillet until they were slightly browned and sprinkled them over top.  I’m all about the presentation! 

Love it!  Hope you do to!

Coconut Cupcakes

  •  1 -1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup shortening
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup sweetend coconut flakes

Heat oven to 350F.  Line cupcake pan with cupcake liners.  In large bowl, blend all ingredients at low speed until moistened.  Pour batter into cupcake pan.

Bake at 350F for 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in centre comes out clean.  Cool … and frost with white chocolate and cream cheese frosting … and enjoy.

L

About Leah

Hello, I'm Maria Leah. I'm a pretty average novice baker & most recently cake designer. The funny thing is I haven't taken a cake decorating class - yet. Instead I watch way too much "Ace of Cakes", "Cake Boss" & anything really off Food Network, that one day I thought to myself, "why don't I make a cake"? And so I did...One cake, turned into 2, which turned into 3...which turned into cake and cupcake orders for my family, friends and now people who are really taking an interest in my work. Photos of my progress followed, my skills started to sharpen...and my supportive friends insisted on more cakes and what you have now is me blogging about all my baking and designing adventures - the failures and the sweet success. Enjoy. ML

One response »

Email me

