Hockey Jersey Cake

Standard

A friend of mine asked me to decorate a cake for his dad’s 62nd birthday.  Not a problem, I said.  Actually this made me think of my own dad who will be turning 62 in early May, and the hope that I get the chance to make him a cake as well.  (My parents currently live in sunny L.A., while I live in Ontario)

Anyways, my friend asked me to decorate it as a hockey jersey – a Montreal Canadiens hockey jersey. 

Okay, okay, I will be the first to admit that I no absolutely NOTHING about hockey.  Yes, I have watched a few games on television.  And yes, I’ve even gone to watch a game live at some major event, which I completely enjoyed more than watching in front of a tv screen.  But no matter how much I’m exposed to it, no matter how many times anyone explains the rules to me, for some reason or another I cannot retain the information beyond, in our net = good, not our net = bad.  It’s sad, I know….

So into the late evening I started working on this cake.  Because there isn’t any major designs (we decided to copy the jersey from behind rather in front to capture the name and significant number), I procrastinated.  So like me.  And thus I ended up working on this cake until 4:00am.  The latest I’ve ever worked on a cake to date. 

I wanted to make sure the detail – lettering, lines, stitching on the jersey were somewhat captured.  *Sigh – and this is the other trait of myself: the extreme detailed perfectionist side, that tends to get the better of me.  But after the lines started to blur and the fact that I was holding onto an exacto-knife at the time, gave reason to crawling into bed at 4 o’clock in the morning.

By morning, and some last-minute attention to more details, this is what I finished with.

I’m sad that I didn’t get a chance to create the Canadiens logo on the puck, as I had hoped I would. 

I did hear that the cake – vanilla cake with chocolate mousse filling – turned out to be a hit .  And that my friend’s dad loved it. 

L

About Leah

Hello, I'm Maria Leah. I'm a pretty average novice baker & most recently cake designer. The funny thing is I haven't taken a cake decorating class - yet. Instead I watch way too much "Ace of Cakes", "Cake Boss" & anything really off Food Network, that one day I thought to myself, "why don't I make a cake"? And so I did...One cake, turned into 2, which turned into 3...which turned into cake and cupcake orders for my family, friends and now people who are really taking an interest in my work. Photos of my progress followed, my skills started to sharpen...and my supportive friends insisted on more cakes and what you have now is me blogging about all my baking and designing adventures - the failures and the sweet success. Enjoy. ML

2 responses »

Email me

