My first cake contest…

Standard

Remember my Super Mario Bros, bo-bomb cake?  I wrote about it briefly in my “So Many Cakes” blog.  Well the results came in on Friday afternoon ….

and….

I didn’t win.

Okay not so shocking when you see all the other cakes I was up against. especially not so surprising when you see the other two bo-bomb cakes that followed my entry.

If you get a chance check out the 2011 winners at Threadcakes.

To be honest, as much as I was bummed out to not have won the grand prize (or the subsequent 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th places), I’m still glad that I entered the contest.  And I’m sooo entering next year when this contest comes around again next year…

You didn’t think I’d give up that easily, did you??

About Leah

Hello, I'm Maria Leah. I'm a pretty average novice baker & most recently cake designer. The funny thing is I haven't taken a cake decorating class - yet. Instead I watch way too much "Ace of Cakes", "Cake Boss" & anything really off Food Network, that one day I thought to myself, "why don't I make a cake"? And so I did...One cake, turned into 2, which turned into 3...which turned into cake and cupcake orders for my family, friends and now people who are really taking an interest in my work. Photos of my progress followed, my skills started to sharpen...and my supportive friends insisted on more cakes and what you have now is me blogging about all my baking and designing adventures - the failures and the sweet success. Enjoy. ML

Email me

