Pumpkin “pie” cupcakes – ooops!

Standard

Autumn.

It’s my favorite season of the 4.  I love how there is a coolness in the air.  The colour of the leaves before they fall to the ground.  The fact that I look great in sweaters over bikinis!  I’m just saying….

I also love pumpkins.  Really these are great orange things that seem to go well with anything and everything this time of year.  I love it in soups, as jack-o-lanterns at Halloween, and as something to prop up my kids against when they were babies.

(What?!  You haven’t done this to your child??  Well, get yourself to nearest farm and click away, my friend.)

So with pumpkin season underway, I was more than determined to incorporate this into a cupcake.  This is the first time that I’ve cooked anything using pumpkin, and after much research I found a great recipe of Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cinnamon Brown Sugar Buttercream through My Kitchen Addiction.  It had it all.  Pumpkin, sugar, sweet and spices – what could go wrong?  (Sigh – Murphy’s Law – when saying this, always expect that something will go wrong)

And it did.

I goofed.  It was a small goof.

It was an honest mistake.

Instead of pumpkin puree, I added canned pumpkin pie filling.  Yup there is a difference.  I realized it once I pulled the cupcakes out of the oven, and although they smelled heavenly, they were a little dense.

So I did what anyone would do in this matter.  I got my hubby to test try them.  He knew something was up when I literally stared at him as he took the first bite.

Hubby: “What?”

Me: “How was it?”

Hubby: (taking second bite) “It’s good….” (Pause, now staring at the cupcake for any hidden vegetables or tofu) “What did you do to it?”

Me: “I put in pumpkin pie filling instead of puree.”

Hubby: “Oh. (finishing off cupcake) Yay, it tastes like pumpkin pie, but without the crust.”

I took a bite of one at that very moment, and he was right.  It does taste like a tiny pumpkin pie without the crust!  Crazy.  So my goof fell in my favor.  Thank goodness!  It tastes just as great with the frosting too.

So word to the wise.  Make mistakes.  Some mistakes can lead to good things.  Tasty things that are perfect for autumn days and leaning against pumpkins.

About Leah

Hello, I'm Maria Leah. I'm a pretty average novice baker & most recently cake designer. The funny thing is I haven't taken a cake decorating class - yet. Instead I watch way too much "Ace of Cakes", "Cake Boss" & anything really off Food Network, that one day I thought to myself, "why don't I make a cake"? And so I did...One cake, turned into 2, which turned into 3...which turned into cake and cupcake orders for my family, friends and now people who are really taking an interest in my work. Photos of my progress followed, my skills started to sharpen...and my supportive friends insisted on more cakes and what you have now is me blogging about all my baking and designing adventures - the failures and the sweet success. Enjoy. ML

One response »

Email me

