Mini Diva Cupcakes

Standard

My best friend hosted a Party Lite party today and had asked me to make some cupcakes.  Of course I obliged her with some chocolate mini cupcakes.  Mainly because I had some kicking around and didn’t want it to go to waste.

But I wanted to give it that extra “umph”.  It would a room full of women with smart tasted, I wanted to try painting.  On fondant.

Nothing fancy.

I wasn’t trying to discover my inner Van Gogh.  Just some patterns on fondant.  I mainly wanted to see if I could do it.  Maybe I was tapping into my inner girlie-girlie.

I started out by cutting 1 1/2″ circles from white fondant and allowed this to completely dry out – approximately a day.  I cut out about 30 some odd circles – you start to get into a rhythm and begin to lose count after a while….

I dusted half of these circles in pink.  Then using a hot pink edible paint and a paint brush I started to paint on dots.  Nothing perfect – big, small, misshapen shapes.  Once these were dry I proceeded to paint the dark shadow – a la leopard print.  I really loved how this turned out!!

On the rest I just left them with complete black spots or zebra printed patterns.

The full effect – fondant circles topping cupcakes, caught me by surprise.

GORGEOUS!  Very worthy of a group of DIVAS at a Saturday afternoon candle party.

About Leah

Hello, I'm Maria Leah. I'm a pretty average novice baker & most recently cake designer. The funny thing is I haven't taken a cake decorating class - yet. Instead I watch way too much "Ace of Cakes", "Cake Boss" & anything really off Food Network, that one day I thought to myself, "why don't I make a cake"? And so I did...One cake, turned into 2, which turned into 3...which turned into cake and cupcake orders for my family, friends and now people who are really taking an interest in my work. Photos of my progress followed, my skills started to sharpen...and my supportive friends insisted on more cakes and what you have now is me blogging about all my baking and designing adventures - the failures and the sweet success. Enjoy. ML

Email me

