Cowgirl Birthday Party

Standard

Ah Summer time – school’s out, the days get longer and both my kids get a year older.  Yep, both of them are summer time babies.

This year, my daughter is turning 5 (it’s an important milestone in kindergarten terms).  She’s a great kid with a mind of her own, and so we asked her what kind of birthday theme did she want.  After much, much, MUCH thought on what to have, she finally settled on: Cowgirl.

We live in the suburbs – she has never ridden a pony, nor seen a rodeo, but she wanted to be a cowgirl.  How I love my daughter!

So right away, I got to work on her cake.  But first my daughter pulled me aside and instead of chocolate or vanilla, she asked for a rainbow.

Sigh…

So I baked up 6 layers of white cake, each coloured in different segments of the rainbow: purple, blue, green, yellow, orange, red.

Stacked each in that order and decorated the cake in a simple cowgirl theme.

I particularly loved the handkerchief detail.

When it was time to cut the cake, I honestly held my breath as I cut out a slice and slide it onto the plate.  Every little girl screamed with delight (I’m really not exaggerating – a small group of 4 and 5 years olds screamed) when then saw the “rainbow” inside.

All in all, it was a great birthday party for my little girl.  She had a blast…. now onto my son’s 3rd birthday party next month.  Stay tuned.

About Leah

Hello, I'm Maria Leah. I'm a pretty average novice baker & most recently cake designer. The funny thing is I haven't taken a cake decorating class - yet. Instead I watch way too much "Ace of Cakes", "Cake Boss" & anything really off Food Network, that one day I thought to myself, "why don't I make a cake"? And so I did...One cake, turned into 2, which turned into 3...which turned into cake and cupcake orders for my family, friends and now people who are really taking an interest in my work. Photos of my progress followed, my skills started to sharpen...and my supportive friends insisted on more cakes and what you have now is me blogging about all my baking and designing adventures - the failures and the sweet success. Enjoy. ML

Email me