Have your cake…..

Standard

So yes, I’ll be the first to admit that I have badly neglected my little blog.  Sigh…So much for new years resolutions….

But like always I’ve been busy…baking and designing cakes, of course.

What have I actually created, you ask?

In December I was playing with cakes … these little bars are my “just a taste” cakes – when you don’t want a whole cake…but still want the decadence of sweetness.  Hehehe.

I like these cakes the best for their simplicity.  Because I was only trying it out for the first time, all three bars were vanilla and buttercream frosting, but I’m willing to make varieties.

In February there was the Barbie silhouette cake….

And what is Barbie without her accessories?

The Lego cake.

I wanted this unique cake to look like the classic Lego figures had come to life and had decided to cover up a large Lego block in fondant.

Viola!  Lego Cake!

And then I designed the Phineas and Ferb cake for a friend of mine from work for her son.

I had taken the time to paint out the cartoon characters on gum paste.

And I wanted to do the very first episode with the roller coaster….

And of course Phineas and Ferb!

In the lovely month of March, I did a bridal shower cake for a lovely bride-to-be (whom I was honored and privileged to do her wedding cake and cupcakes this past May.)

Which was followed by a Dinosaur birthday cake for another friend of mine, for her little boy….

Yes, Dinosaurs celebrate birthday’s with 3 year old little boys – haven’t you heard?!

Last but not least was a Hiking Boot cake, requested by a gentleman who read my blog (yeah!!!) and simply requested this unique shaped cake for his sister’s birthday.

So there you have the last six months done in up in sweet cakes.

Hoping to bring you more soon.

L

About Leah

Hello, I'm Maria Leah. I'm a pretty average novice baker & most recently cake designer. The funny thing is I haven't taken a cake decorating class - yet. Instead I watch way too much "Ace of Cakes", "Cake Boss" & anything really off Food Network, that one day I thought to myself, "why don't I make a cake"? And so I did...One cake, turned into 2, which turned into 3...which turned into cake and cupcake orders for my family, friends and now people who are really taking an interest in my work. Photos of my progress followed, my skills started to sharpen...and my supportive friends insisted on more cakes and what you have now is me blogging about all my baking and designing adventures - the failures and the sweet success. Enjoy. ML

4 responses »

  1. you don’t seem to look novice at all. i can never design cakes like this nor bake a cake at all haha.
    now let me look at your other posts yet and enjoy myself with the delightful designs you created!
    malou

Email me