August & September’s Cakes

Standard

Busy as usual with my lovely cakes…

I had yet another Angry Birds cake.  This time, it was a request for the classic game.

 

I really love creating this guys by hand out of fondant.

Angry but loveable.  Can you blame them?  They’re only protecting their eggs….

I then had the cutest baptismal cake to fashion.  The request was for the baby bum cake.

 

The lovely Godmother who requested the cake, also suggested the cutest saying….

 

 

How can you not melt?

Then there was my son’s 3rd birthday cake.  He’s a big Big BIG fan of Disney Cars.  Last year I made him a Mater – the tow truck cake. This year he asked for Lightening McQueen.  I won’t be surprised if he asks for another character out of the movie next year for his birthday.  Did I mention he’s a big fan?

 

 

I wanted to take a picture of him with his cake.  He stood next to it enough times to seem like it was a possibility, but he’s like his mom – we run from the camera all the time.  Hahahaha

Last but not least was an adorable Dora ballerina cake for my best friend’s daughter.

 

It was fun molding Dora the Explorer in ballet mode out of gum paste.

 

Breaking my usual tradition of covering my cakes in fondant, I covered this lovely confetti cake in a tasty vanilla buttercream.  Yummy and good for you too.

And the orders are slowly rolling in for October as I type this newest blog entry.

 

About Leah

Hello, I'm Maria Leah. I'm a pretty average novice baker & most recently cake designer. The funny thing is I haven't taken a cake decorating class - yet. Instead I watch way too much "Ace of Cakes", "Cake Boss" & anything really off Food Network, that one day I thought to myself, "why don't I make a cake"? And so I did...One cake, turned into 2, which turned into 3...which turned into cake and cupcake orders for my family, friends and now people who are really taking an interest in my work. Photos of my progress followed, my skills started to sharpen...and my supportive friends insisted on more cakes and what you have now is me blogging about all my baking and designing adventures - the failures and the sweet success. Enjoy. ML

Email me