First Birthdays

Standard

Celebrating a 1st anything is very special.

Especially for parents of a baby who encounters many many first time moments….first step, first words, first tooth and of course…first birthday!

Ah, first birthday, what a special time … naturally I don’t remember mine.  I don’t even know if I have any pictures of that day (must ask my parents).  I’m assuming there was singing and a cake involved somewhere amidst that day.  For my daughter, I baked up cupcakes and slathered a thick serving of icing over it to make a cupcake-cake (this was pre-elaborate cake days).  I am also about ease – if I don’t need to do simple math to figure out how many pieces to cut the cake, all the better!

For my son’s first birthday, his was the beginning of the elaborate cake era.  I baked up 3 different flavoured cakes (chocolate, vanilla and confetti) and created 3 large “square” wooden blocks  (ok, they looked far from square blocks, but rather squished up blocks), each block spelling out my son’s name.  (For his cake, yes I had to use simple math.)

My babies are no longer babies (sniff – wipe away single rolling tear).  My daughter is now 5 and my son is 3 … time flies, doesn’t it?  And now I have friends and family who are celebrating their little ones first years, and I get to be part of such a great day all over again.

My neighbour asked me to create a cake for her son’s 1st birthday.  His love for Mickey Mouse being the focus of the cake.

Without having to make the famous mouse himself (afraid I wouldn’t get his face done properly), I focused on his iconic ears in the form of the famous Mickey Mouse hat and the red shorts and white buttons on his pants.

As a special treat, I wanted to create a “smash” cake … a smaller cake in a soft icing that the birthday boy or girl gets to literally “dive into” to everyone’s delight.  Really, when else in your life can you get away with such behavior?!  LoL

In September, my husband’s cousin’s son’s first birthday (are you still following me?) requested a baseball themed cake.  Specifically one  featuring the Toronto Blue Jays – her husbands beloved team.

 

As an additional surprise, I whipped up a smash cake in the shape of half of a baseball.

 

Happy 1st birthdays baby S and baby A.  No longer babies now!

About Leah

Hello, I'm Maria Leah. I'm a pretty average novice baker & most recently cake designer. The funny thing is I haven't taken a cake decorating class - yet. Instead I watch way too much "Ace of Cakes", "Cake Boss" & anything really off Food Network, that one day I thought to myself, "why don't I make a cake"? And so I did...One cake, turned into 2, which turned into 3...which turned into cake and cupcake orders for my family, friends and now people who are really taking an interest in my work. Photos of my progress followed, my skills started to sharpen...and my supportive friends insisted on more cakes and what you have now is me blogging about all my baking and designing adventures - the failures and the sweet success. Enjoy. ML

Email me